Samaritans UK Call 116123 24/7 An amazing listening service that could help YOU in your time of need.

My Leicester Samaritans talk

Wednesday 27th April 2016 at The City Rooms

My name is Judith and I have been asked to speak at your very worthwhile charity event for Leicester Samaritans. I have recently raised some money for Leicester Samaritans because I have been a regular user of this amazing service over the past twelve months. I am very pleased to be able to speak at this event and to tell you what it is like to contact Leicester Samaritans.

I first recall using Leicester Samaritians when I was a teenager as I was experiencing depression for the first time. I remember at the time feeling the relief and the power of being listened to and that I could do this in a safe and confidential environment.

Most recently I have called Leicester Samaritans, as I have been experiencing discrimination in my workplace. I have Bipolar Disorder and I found myself in a position where I was at a personal and professional crossroads. The last twelve months have been a very stressful time for my mental health. I have felt very depressed and for the first time suicidal. However I always remembered that you do not have to be suicidal to contact the Samaritans.

There were many times that I called Leicester Samaritans during this time, day and night. I had so many supportive and encouraging conversations with Leicester Samaritans. They helped me to face another day when I could not sleep at night and felt so anxious.   To have someone to talk to when my family and friends were not available was life saving. I had conversations that became about helping me to work out what my next steps could be to get back to work.

I often felt spurred on with my cause and I can truly say that I feel that Leicester Samaritans played a significant part in keeping me well and facing forward.

 I want to be open about my experiences this evening as I feel it may help in a small way to break down the stigma surrounding mental health. We all have mental health, as we are all human beings. There is nothing wrong or shameful in seeking help and support when we feel unwell in our mind or in our body.

The more I talk to people about my mental health and my experiences the more I find I have in common with other people.

 Leicester Samaritans is open 365 days a year and 24 hours a day. It has never closed in the 50 years it has been running.

I think that it is an amazing service and that it is undervalued. I feel that Leicester Samaritan’s support has enabled me to go on living a good life. So, huge thanks, to all the volunteers who give up their time, to listen to people in their time of need.

Leave a comment